Book by phone: +1 (231) 922-8922

Somewhere In Time near Lake Leelanau

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 16, 8 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

Cedar, MI 49621 United States

A rare find in the heart of Leelanau County this truly charming "turn of the century" vintage farmhouse style home is located on 10 beautiful roliing acres. Just minutes to Lake Michigan and Lake Leelanau. This two level home is located in the heart of Leelanau County, just north of Cedar. Backyard faces east. 8 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Sleeps up to 16 maximum.

4 Queens, 2 Fulls, 1 bunkbed and 2 Twins. Two bedrooms on main floor and six bedrooms upstairs. Wood floors, 2 wood burning fireplaces, full kitchen with dishwasher. Washer and Dryer. TV (no cable), DVD. WiFi.

Great spot to relax in the quiet of this rural area, read books, drink wine and enjoy the good life. Charcoal grill and spacious deck for outdoor dining. Star gaze in the crystal clear sky at night. Ready to swim? Head a few minutes east to South Lake Leelanau or west to beautiful Good Harbor Beach on Lake Michigan. The cute towns of Glen Arbor or Leland are easy drives too. Less than 20 miles to Traverse City.
No air conditioning. No pets. Linens are provided. No smoking.
Will consider weekly or short stays during any season. Summer 3 night minimum. Short stays are permitted during prime summer dates, however, deposits will not be charged for reservations totaling less than 7 nights that are booked online until the reservation is confirmed by Visit Up North the next business day. Arrival and/or departure date must back up to existing reservations and/or begin/end on a Saturday or Sunday.3 night minimum Memorial and Labor Day weekends.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, 2 story
Unit Code SOMEW
Beds 7 queen beds, 4 twin beds, 1 bunk bed
Bathrooms 3 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 16
Floor Area 2400 square feet
Pets No pets allowed.
Living Amenities Linens & Towels, No Air Conditioning, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board
Kitchen Amenities Full Kitchen, Utensils, Cookware, Coffee Maker, Dishwasher, Refrigerator, Stove, Oven, Microwave, Toaster
Entertainment Amenities Internet (Wifi), Television(s), No Cable/Satellite Service, DVD Movies, VCR Player, Stereo System, CD Player
Outdoor Amenities Charcoal grill, Gas Grill, Deck
Geographic Exceptional Views, Near Beach, Secluded, Sleeping Bear Dunes Area, Lake Leelanau Area, Sugar Loaf Area
Local Activities Biking, Boating, Fishing/Fly Fishing, Hiking Trails, Public Parks w/Swim Beach, Sight-Seeing, Swimming
Local Businesses Nearby Casino, Nearby Golf Course, Nearby Grocery/Shopping Center, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Winery
Local Features Art Gallery(s), Lighthouse(s), Sleeping Bear Dunes Nat.Lk.Shore, Festivals, Cherry Festival, Traverse City Film Festival, Tall Ship Cruises, Great Lakes Equestrian, Brew Festival-Summer, Leelanau Peninsula Winery, The Bay Theater-Suttons Bay, Good Harbor WInery, Hop Lot Brewery, Black Star Winery, Willow Winery, Ciccione WInery, M22 Challenge, Bayshore Marathon, Suttons Bay Ciders, Northport Dog Parade, Longview WInery, Bel Lago Vineyards & Winery, Chateau Fontaine, Laurentide WInery, Northern Latitudes Distillery, The Workshop Brewery, Brengman Brothers, Chateau de Leelanau, Good Neighbor Organic, Silver Leaf Vineyard & Winery, Boathouse Vineyards-Lake Leelana, Verterra Winery-Leland
Average Manager Rating (Based on 6385 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 26 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
96 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Year of the wedding!

    Stayed 4 days ending in September, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Stockbridge, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wedding in Cedar so the location. Was fabulous! Held many family memebers, so much better than a hotel room. Renting a house is the way to go.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We are thrilled you enjoyed the house and hope you come back again soon!

  •  
  • Very mixed feelings

    Stayed 4 days ending in September, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Mascoutah, IL recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed at Somewhere In Time for 4 nights for my son's wedding. I looked for a place that House my whole family with their families for this occasion. In that regard I loved it. It was great to have my 3 children and their families all together and under one roof. My grandkids loved the ice cream parlor and did pretend play there, but that was certainly all that was suitable for. The kitchen was very nostalgic and well stocked with just about any untensil/kitchen appliance ou could ever need. It was also the smallest room in the house. There is really only 1 bathroom, the other two are not well built and feel like you are taking a shower in a closet. The house smelled of mildew. This place has a perfect location, however! The Catholic Church across the street is the most active and bustling Catholic Church I've seen! And THIS little church is where our son and daughter in law were married! The church bells rang often which was very pleasant.

    Overall, we will have wonderful mementoes from our stay in Michigan. Our family time will always be cherished and Michigan is a beautiful place to visit. Somewhere in Time could be a wonderful place to stay with some investment in restoring it to its original condition.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We will pass on your suggestions to the owner and hope to see you again maybe in another one of our rentals or back here some day!

  •  
  • Nice clean home

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Janet B from West Olive, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Home was great size for our family. Clean and comfortable, some mattress and pillows could be updated. The most important part of a rental to me is that the beds are comfortable some could definitely use updating.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We will pass on your suggestions to the owners and hope to see you again!

  •  
  • Review of Somewhere in Time, Cedar, MI

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Onsted, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a very enjoyable time. The location was central to many of the best spots in the area. The house was quaint.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We are thrilled you enjoyed the house and hope you come back again soon!

  •  
  • wedding digs

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from hudsonville, MI recommends this vacation rental

    When we first arrived the house hadn't been cleaned and there were dirty towels on the floor. I made a call to up north and it was taken care of right away. We loved the house, it was very quaint.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We are sorry you arrived to it not done yet but glad we could make it perfect for you to enjoy your stay come back again soon!

  •  
  • Charming but in need of repair.

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Rochester, Minnesota does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Somewhere in Time was in a great location, private and peaceful with lots of room indoors and outdoors for our group of 16.the refrigerator, stove top and Weber grill were adequate, oven was very small so didn't use it. Back deck was large but needed rails in a couple spots, and front porch was crooked and in need of repair. We avoided the Ice cream parlor since floor was cracked, baseboards missing and it was not clean. With a lot of TLC, this could be a great place.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      Thank you for staying with us we hope you will try us out again in another one of our rentals

  •  
  • Farmhouse experience in northern Michigan

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jenny M from Saint Johns, MI recommends this vacation rental

    It suited our needs very well. We had 5 children and 7 adults with our kids and grandkids.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We are thrilled you enjoyed the house and hope you come back again soon!

  •  
  • Good time at Somewhere in Time

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Brian B from Canton, Michigan recommends this vacation rental

    The house was perfect for the price. It was very conveniently located to all of the Leelanau wineries. Although the house was old and nostalgic, it still had a warm and cozy feel. All 6 couples in my party enjoyed their stay.

    • Manager Responded on 11/29/2016

      Fantastic that your time at Somewhere in Time was perfect.

  •  
  • Fun Old House

    Stayed 5 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Royal Oak, MI recommends this vacation rental

    This farm house has a lot of old home charm. While I love old homes, this one needs quite a bit of updating and love. There is chipping paint, rotten wood throughout and peeling tile in the ice cream parlor. The old stove is charming but I would've preferred something a bit more functional. All that said, we had a great time and enjoyed having a large amount of space for our group of 10.

    • Manager Responded on 7/25/2016

      We will make sure to let the owner know your suggestions but happy that you enjoyed your stay.

  •  
  • 10 stars.

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Tampa, FL recommends this vacation rental

    Near to everything we needed. Space for family to get together inside and outside. Clean comfortable with the old timey feel. Family from the area came one evening to just chill out and have some time to catch up.

    • Manager Responded on 6/22/2016

      How wonderful! Thank you for staying with us.

  •  
  • Family togetherness

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Tejal C from Chicago, IL recommends this vacation rental

    We all enjoyed the communal areas such as living room, deck and large outdoor property!

  •  
  • Family Fun

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2014

    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Alto, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Very old house. We enjoyed going back in time and being in the country. So much room. The location is perfect to experience beautiful Leelanau county.

  •  
  • Somewhere In Time July 2014

    Stayed 5 days ending in July, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    John S from Byron Center, MI recommends this vacation rental

    The property was clean and maintained OK. It needed a few updates. They say they want it to be "original or authentic" but the kitchen and the bathrooms need updating! Size & location were just as advertised but the stove and kitchen in general are not adequate for the number of people the house sleeps. The bathrooms need updating. Overall we had a great time and the kids want to go back.

  •  
  • Lovely visit to a lovely place

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from New City, NY recommends this vacation rental

    A lovely old house with many bedrooms in the middle of Leelenau Peninsula. Although there is nothing but rolling country side and The Holy Rosary Church in the immediate vicinity, this location is so central that you can reach almost any part of the area in 20 minutes or so.
    We had a good time. We had trouble lighting the oven one night, (although not trouble the first time), I would suggest that the instructions for this procedure be a bit more prominent and/or clear, but we figured it out and cooked a great dinner. Thanks!
    Would recommend.

  •  
  • Cool place

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Sanford, MI recommends this vacation rental

    To address a previous review, the stove is gas but DOES work...the oven just runs hot, so keep an eye on your food and you'll be just fine. Dishwasher is portable but a snap to hook up and use. Location is GORGEOUS with rolling hills, a pretty church across the street, and quaint downtown Cedar just down the road. We liked the large number of bedrooms and thought the "maze"-ish set-up of the house was cool.

  •  
  • Pleasant Stay at Somewhere In Time

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Northville, MI recommends this vacation rental

    The staff at the reservation office are professional and the rental was in good condition and very clean. In general, we had good time there. However, there were a few things can be improved: (1) the stove was very slow, (2) no instruction to where/how to connect the dish washer,we were unable to use it.

  •  
  • Re-acquainting with the North Country

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Michigan Center, Mi recommends this vacation rental

    My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Somewhere in Time at Cedar, Michigan. It was exactly what we wanted, a place we could all (16) stay under one roof and there was something for everyone in the vicinity. Our family members came from Connecticut, Montana, Wisconsin, Chelsea, Napoleon and Grass Lake MI. So it was important for us to have a "gathering place".
    The eight bedrooms were ample for our needs. The linens were plentiful and of "hotel quality". There were enough dishes, cutlery and cooking pots and pans. We did not use the portable dishwasher but we did use the washer and dryer. There was plenty of space to spread out OR be on your own. Everyone enjoyed it immensely. The weather was beautiful but if it had not been there was still plenty of room inside. The house is rather unique and attractively furnished.
    The cleaning staff had just left when we arrived on Sunday. Unfortunately there was a HUGE pile of trash left in the front yard, (not enough room in the garbage container) which remained until Wed. The neighbor lady suggested they could use an additional container. There were "ticks" (the Lime Disease carrier type)that appeared in the bathrooms and on the bedroom ceilings on the first floor. My Connecticut guests recognized them, as I had never seen a "tick". Cleaning staff should check this. The one thing we had to clean ourselves was the gas grill, an easy item for the cleaners to miss. The deck was nice and we had brought a few additional lawn chairs to add to the ones supplied.
    The TV reception (for the Olympics) was good and we were very surprised and pleased to learn we had access to WiFi.
    My children's & grand-children's spouses all told me they thought we had made a great selection, I think that was the real plus. Everyone left saying, "Let's do it again"

  •  
  • SOMEWHERE IN TIME

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2012

    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mary J from Fort Wayne, IN recommends this vacation rental

    Unique location but very historical. Wished I read the book before "Isadores secrets". It was a very nice old famhouse and the whole family enjoyed. It was historical and hysterical. We had a lot of fun and memories.

  •  
  • Michigan is a good place for summer vacation

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Yingshi G from Dublin, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We have nice time in this property, our kids love this house.

  •  
  • Memory filled Memorial Weekend

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Allison P from Livonia, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We rented this fabulous farm house with 12 people, one of those people being my eight month old niece. The amenities were great for everyone. The location is quiet, but not too far from the wonderful attractions of the Leelanau Penninsula. We all had a great time in this beautiful home.

  •  
  • The house did take us back in time. We had a great time. We have used up North Rentals for 4 years now and we will keep using them. Thanks for a great time. Elaine Moore and Family

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Elaine M from Rose City, MI recommends this vacation rental

  •  
  • Nice

    Stayed 2 days ending in August, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Bloomfield Hills, MI recommends this vacation rental

  •  
  • Great home and ideal for family get together, quiet location. Will recommend although kitchen facilities are very quaint they are restrictive.

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Ian M from Burlington, On recommends this vacation rental

  •  
  • Room for all

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Julie R from Appleton, WI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a very nice stay at Somewhere in Time. It was large enough for the 14 of us and enough room so the younger children could be supervised, but in another room so the adults could talk. The bedrooms are made for 2 people each, so we had no problem splitting up girls and boys and parents got the luxury of our own rooms.

  •  
  • Somewhere In Time

    Stayed 2 days ending in September, 2009

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Diane R from Grand Rapids, MI recommends this vacation rental

    What a great and quirky property.

  •  
  • Jan's Review

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2008

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Janice R from Mattawan, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time and the house was great for our big group. Please note that the downstairs bathroom bathtub needs a water faucet. Plus, halfway thru the week we noticed that the upstairs shower leaked down through the dining room ceiling (just in front of the front door). We stopped using that shower, but many renters might not and could cause lots of damage. Besides this we had a great stay. We would LOVE to learn any history on the house or church across the street.

    • Manager Responded on 7/19/2011

      The downstairs bathroom faucet HAS been repaired!

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Mar 26, 2018-May 25, 2018 $300 $1,600 na 2 Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri checkin only
May 26, 2018-Jun 16, 2018 $395 $1,800 na 2 No restrictions
Jun 17, 2018-Aug 26, 2018 $485 $2,500 $10,970 3 No restrictions
Aug 27, 2018-Oct 27, 2018 $445 $1,600 $7,290 2 No restrictions
Oct 28, 2018-Dec 20, 2018 $400 $2,800 $12,000 2 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
44.877795,-85.77578

We Accept:


  Discover Card

Visit Up North Vacation Rentals, LLC 548 East Front Street Traverse City, MI 49686 +1 (231) 922-8922 info@visitupnorth.com

© 1999 - 2018 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon