Book by phone: +1 (231) 922-8922

Up North Tree House-Suttons Bay

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental cabin / bungalow. Sleeps 4, 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom. Dogs allowed.

Suttons Bay, MI 49682 United States

Located in the charming village of Suttons Bay the "Up North Tree House Retreat" is a perfect "get away from it all," location. This Glenn Arai designed home offers a modernist style with thoughtful consideration for its building site. Situated on a forested hill, it offers a tranquil setting under the shade of towering trees and actually feels like you are in a tree house. This is a 2 bedroom and 1 bathroom and will sleep up to 4 with 1 Queen and 1 Full.

All the comforts of home inside with a full kitchen, Cable TV, WiFi, and washer/dryer. Huge windows offer great forest views while relaxing in living room. Jacuzzi tub too!

Step outside the living room and relax on one of the 4 decks with a bottle of tasty local wine, some hand-crafted cheese or grill the catch of the day on the provided gas grill. Let the morning sun warm you as you start your day with a cup of coffee. Only 3 blocks to the beach, marina, shopping and so much more. You can play at the beach all day but have the chance to escape from the busy summer crowds when you arrive back at the house.

There is a fantastic beach and marina right in the village of Suttons Bay on West Grand Traverse Bay. The public library offers visitors a nice spot for renting videos and books. Bike and paddle board rentals are available in the village. Hop Lot Brewery is a doable walk too. Suttons Bay is located 15 miles from Traverse City. This is a great location for visiting Leelanau County. Northport, Omena, and Leland are all easy drives. Sleeping Bear Dunes is a 25 mile drive along M-22.

Linens are provided. No smoking. No air conditioning, but fans are provided.
Small dog considered.


Will consider short stays during any season. Prime Summer 3 night minimum or weekly Saturday-Saturday. Short stays are permitted during prime summer dates, however, deposits will not be charged for reservations totaling less than 7 nights that are booked online until the reservation is confirmed by Visit Up North the next business day. Arrival and/or departure date must back up to existing reservations and/or begin/end on a Saturday.3 night minimum Memorial and Labor Day weekends.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Cabin / Bungalow
Unit Code UPNOR
Beds 1 queen bed, 1 full bed
Bathrooms 1 bathroom
Rooms Sleeps 4
Pets Dogs allowed.
Living Amenities Linens & Towels, No Air Conditioning, Fans, Franklin Stove: Wood Burning, Fireplace: Wood Burning, Washer & Dryer
Kitchen Amenities Full Kitchen, Utensils, Cookware, Coffee Maker, Tea Kettle, Dishwasher, Refrigerator, Mini Fridge, Stove, Microwave, Toaster
Entertainment Amenities Internet (Wifi), Flat Panel TV, Cable Television
Outdoor Amenities Gas Grill, Outdoor Dining Table & Chairs, Deck
Geographic Sunrise view, Secluded, Short Walk to Water, Suttons Bay Area
Local Activities Basketball Court, Beach Walking, Biking, Hiking Trails, Movie Theatre, Sight-Seeing, Swimming, Tennis Court, Sugarloaf the Old Course, Bahle Farms Suttons Bay, Tuckers Bowling Alley, Northport Creek Golf course , Leelanau Sands Casino
Local Businesses Nearby Area Fitness Center, Nearby ATM, Nearby Bike Rentals, Nearby Boat Launch, Nearby Casino, Nearby Coffee Shop, Nearby Farmers Market, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Golf Course, Nearby Grocery/Shopping Center, Nearby Library, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Winery, Dog Walking Services, Near Brewery
Local Features Art Gallery(s), Baseball Park(s), Symphony Orchestra, Theatre(s), Wine Tour(s), Horse Shows By the Bay, Sleeping Bear Dunes Nat.Lk.Shore, Festivals, Cherry Festival, Traverse City Film Festival, Bike rentals, Jet ski rentals, Canoe rentals, Wine Festivals (summer& fall), Wine Events, Tall Ship Cruises, Interlochen Center for the Arts, Great Lakes Equestrian, Brew Festival-Summer, Northport Brewery, Leelanau Peninsula Winery, The Bay Theater-Suttons Bay, Good Harbor WInery, Hop Lot Brewery, Traverse City Beach Bums , Black Star Winery, Willow Winery, Ciccione WInery, M22 Challenge, Bayshore Marathon, Suttons Bay Ciders, Northport Dog Parade, Longview WInery, Bel Lago Vineyards & Winery, Chateau Fontaine, Laurentide WInery, Northern Latitudes Distillery, Brengman Brothers, Chateau de Leelanau, Good Neighbor Organic, Silver Leaf Vineyard & Winery, Boathouse Vineyards-Lake Leelana, Verterra Winery-Leland
Average Manager Rating (Based on 6561 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 21 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
95 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Always love it!

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Conni C from East Lansing, Mi recommends this vacation rental

    Great weather and a great time in a great place. We loved the new coffee pot and glassware this time.

  •  
  • Great vacation rental for a vacation in Northern Michigan!

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Schellsburg, PA recommends this vacation rental

    The Up North Tree House was an awesome place to stay for our family vacation in Northern Michigan. It's very unique and cozy architecture along with the layout of the decks and the quiet location made it a perfect home away from home for our vacation. Also very clean and a nice location to be relatively close to all the major attractions in this part of Michigan.

  •  
  • One of our Happy Places

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Conni C from East Lansing, Mi recommends this vacation rental

    Although the weather was not the best we always like to tuck away in this little space!

    • Manager Responded on 11/6/2017

      Up North Treehouse is a perfect spot to be tucked away for the week for sure.

  •  
  • Great place, steep price increase!

    Stayed 3 days ending in October, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Kalamazoo, MI recommends this vacation rental

    I really love this property and have been renting it for the past 3 years. Great location, clean, wonderful property managers. But due to a steep price increase ($70 a day), I will be looking at other rental properties for next year. I still highly recommend this property and would continue to rent if not for the steep increase.

    • Manager Responded on 1/3/2018

      Hmmm. We have checked our rates dating back to 2015. There was a small rate increase of $30.00 per day over a three year period of time. We are always sensitive to raising rates but when the rental cost of utilities, improvements, licensing, maintenance continue to rise small increases have to be met. The owners of this home continue to make wonderful improvements to make each year even better. We hope you will reconsider staying at the Up North Treehouse.

  •  
  • Great Getaway

    Stayed 3 days ending in October, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Paula P from Austin, TX recommends this vacation rental

    This place is a nice place for couples. It was clean, well equipped, except for microwave and toaster, but lots to do in the area. The house is an A Frame with loft bedrooms that wouldn't be safe for toddlers or younger children. It is up on a steep road with a very steep driveway then another steep hill to climb up into the house. The deck is teared with lots of openings a child might slip through. As for adults, it's awesome! Kitchen has a ton of pots and pans, and dishes, Even has a washer and dryer. College type refrigerator and dishwasher. It is well lit both indoor and outdoor. It has a wood burning stove with a ton of wood outside to burn. The wood burning stove actually did take the chill off the house and made it really cozy. It has mostly all windows and skylights which made it so nice to be able to enjoy looking at the treetops. The smoke alarm battery went off and we called customer service and within an half hour they were there fixing it. Close to Traverse City,for shopping and restaurants and the town of Suttons Bay is cute and has shops and restaurants as well. Very pretty area. I would recommend this place.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We are glad you enjoyed your place and your vacation, we hope you will be back very soon!

  •  
  • Tree house experience

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Susan W from Grand Rapids, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We loved the up north tree house. It lives up to it's name. It is a unique, beautiful property. It worked perfectly for my family.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We are so happy that everything worked perfectly for your family that is always our ultimate goal, we hope to see you again very soon!

  •  
  • The Tree House

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Avon, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time. The place was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. It was within walking distance downtown. It was up a hill to get to the place so it even included a mini-cardio workout too..bonus! The bike trail was really close and nice..we rode the distance to Traverse City and back.

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We are thrilled that you had a great time and we cant wait to see you back again!

  •  
  • Stunning!

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Shannon D from Chicago, IL recommends this vacation rental

    An incredible, thoughtfully designed, well appointed, clean, architecturally stunning gem.

    • Manager Responded on 6/21/2017

      Its an amazing house indeed. Please come again.

  •  
  • Jamo

    Stayed 4 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    James S from Dublin, OH recommends this vacation rental

    House was very nice, clean and very convenient to town. We had the feeling of being in a secluded forest but could walk to town. When visiting that area again, would definitely like to stay again.

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • tree house

    Stayed 2 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Patrick H from Sterling Heights, MI recommends this vacation rental

    very nice place, quiet and peaceful.

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • Best trip ever!

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Nathan W from Lake Orion, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a fantastic week here. Perfect location, beautiful home, with everything we needed and more.

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • reasonably nice Treehouse conveniently located near town

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Geneva, IL does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Our stay at the Treehouse home was nice except for our first night. When we arrived, all of the windows were closed so it was very hot in the home. Unfortunately many of the windows were for view only and did not open, especially upstairs where it was very hot with the sloped roof line. We actually slept downstairs the first night on the floor because it was so hot upstairs. After the windows were open for a while and the weather cooled down a bit, we slept upstairs fairly comfortably. The kitchen was adequate for all of our needs and the deck was wonderful for winding down in the evenings to have a beer and enjoy the trees. Also, there was a very small shower curtain hoop which made taking showers kind of difficult as there wasn't enough room to move around when bathing. Overall, kind of a strange house, but worked well enough for us I guess.

    • Manager Responded on 7/20/2016

      We are sorry you were uncomfortable your first night, we know we had a flash of really high temps that we don't always experience. The screens have been replaced so the ventilation should be better.

  •  
  • Review

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jackie B from West Bloomfield, Michigan recommends this vacation rental

    Everything was great except a few of the screens need replacing. In addition, the window crank to the right of the toaster oven has been broken for a couple of years now. Lastly, if they replace the furniture in the near future something a little more comfortable would be great. Other than these items, everything was wonderful. We had a great time!

    • Manager Responded on 7/15/2016

      We will get to the maintenance items (screen and window crank) and will make let the owners know of your suggestion! Hope to see you again next year!

  •  
  • Tree-riffic!

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Conni C from East Lansing, Mi recommends this vacation rental

    We loved the Tree House in Sutton's Bay! It was perfect for us in every way. Perfect size, away from things, beautiful setting, lots of windows, well stocked kitchen with all things we have in our own home. Simple, clean, and comfortable. Three days was not enough! Don't want others to find out about it, so we can have it for ourselves.

    • Manager Responded on 7/2/2016

      We are so glad you had a great time and hope you will be back really soon.....and for more than just 3 days this time so you can really relax! :)

  •  
  • Great Place

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Ferndale, MI recommends this vacation rental

    The Up North Tree House was perfect We loved all of the outdoor deck space and the location was perfect. The loft/bedrooms were very unique and cool. But it all boils down to the shower - it is wonderful!! You get to enjoy a perfect shower as you look out to the lake and surrounding woods. Very cool!

    • Manager Responded on 7/15/2016

      We are so glad you had a great vacation and loved the shower! Hope you will be back, maybe even for a great Fall weekend!

  •  
  • Vacation luxury tree-house

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Anthony G from Brooklyn, NY recommends this vacation rental

    We loved this little house. It is conveniently located....but really private and surrounded by trees. It felt like staying in a modernist tree-house with comfortable beds and good lighting. We felt right at home and very happy.

    • Manager Responded on 8/14/2015

      It is like staying in a tree house! We are so happy you enjoyed this wonderful location. Please visit the "Up North Retreat" again.

  •  
  • Northwest Michigan at its best

    Stayed 6 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Aaron B from Pinckney, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Loved this house. Location is perfect. 5 minute walk to beach. 15 minute drive to west side Lake Michigan beaches and Sleeping Bear Dunes Nat. Park. Ride your bike to Leeleanu Trail that takes you to wineries and Traverse City. Great Restaurants in Suttons Bay. Only down side were the same complaints as previous users. The open floor plan in the upper level creates some hazards for young children in the bedrooms.

    • Manager Responded on 8/8/2015

      Thank you for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are not sure what we can do about the open design of the upper level but we will share with our owner to look at any possible remedy however the design of the house and openness is what makes it so unique.

  •  
  • Up north with style

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Cleveland Heights, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We had a blissful few days in this hip and comfortably appointed home in Suttons Bay. In the sleeping areas with skylights you can fall asleep looking up at the stars, and wake up to the pink sky at dawn. We enjoyed our breakfast on the terraced porches in the dappled summer light. The rental has all the high quality appliances you would need to cook an elegant meal, though most days we walked five minutes into town to have dinner. We can not wait to visit this place again next year!

  •  
  • Up North Retreat - Suttons Bay

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Scott S from New Knoxville, OH recommends this vacation rental

    Great visit for my sister's wedding! The UP North Retreat was a very nice property! The only downside was no AC. It would have been a little more pleasant getting ready for the wedding due to it being hot and humid during our stay, but that was minor. Would definitely recommend this property, and would visit it again! The staff of Visit Up North made it easy before, during, and after our visit too.

    • Manager Responded on 7/29/2015

      We are happy you enjoyed your stay. In our area we have so few hot weeks that many of our homes do not have air conditioning. It is a large expense for something that will not be used very much. (and then the rent would be much higher) If adding additional fans is needed we will be happy to consider that. Fortunately, most nights are pretty cool. Just opening windows at night can offer a cool breeze. Living "up north" allows us to sleep with the windows open which is a very welcome experience.

  •  
  • Nice house, some weird stuff

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Erwan L from Chicago, IL recommends this vacation rental

    the nice was great, good modern furniture and very calm. it's not for everyone though as there is no door on any of the bedroom, no blind or curtains, and the upstairs bedrooms are kind of loft style, and open to the ground floor. so there is no privacy at all.
    also - they have the minimum in terms of cookware and dishes. there are only 4 plates, 4 glasses, 4 of everything, which means you have to keep doing manual dishes. they should really buy a few more plates, glasses, forks, knives etc..

    • Manager Responded on 11/5/2014

      Thank you for bringing this to our attention.Additional dishes, cutlery and glassware will be added this fall. We are sorry for the shortage of items.

  •  
  • Private and Quiet

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jackie B from West Bloomfield, Michigan recommends this vacation rental

    If your looking for privacy, this is your place. Also loved the central location. Just 30 minutes from Traverse City, Glen Arbor and Northport. However, sleeping accommodations may not be appropriate for young children since open spaces, leading to ground floor, exist around the bed. Customer service from the management company was excellent. Would definitely rent this property again.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Jun 17, 2018-Aug 26, 2018 $300 $1,900 $8,200 3 No restrictions
Aug 27, 2018-Oct 27, 2018 $245 $1,400 $6,090 2 No restrictions
Oct 28, 2018-Dec 20, 2018 $170 $1,190 $5,100 2 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
44.976889,-85.653119

We Accept:


  Discover Card

Visit Up North Vacation Rentals, LLC 548 East Front Street Traverse City, MI 49686 +1 (231) 922-8922 info@visitupnorth.com

© 1999 - 2018 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon