Book by phone: +1 (231) 922-8922

Northern Comfort 2-Long Lake-Traverse City

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 10, 4 bedrooms, 2.25 bathrooms. Dogs allowed.

Traverse City, MI 49684 United States

Imagine peaceful mornings on the deck overlooking the lake, quiet walks on gently winding roads, dinner outside with your family or tons of fun playing on the lake. You can find this and so much more at this nice retreat on the all-sports Long Lake. Only 8 miles from downtown Traverse City. 3 bedrooms plus 4th separate space for sleeping and 2-1/2 bathrooms. Multi-level house with steps down to lake. On quiet side street, faces Southwest.

Upstairs bedrooms- 2 Queen. Downstairs bedrooms-Master has 1 Queen and additional sleeping area has 1 Queen/trundle (2 Twins). House has concrete floors throughout most of the house. 2 upper bedrooms have bamboo floors. The concrete feels cool in the summer and radiant heat for winter months. Sunken living room, fireplace in the kitchen, wide spiral staircase to upper bedrooms. Windows and decks everywhere make this a fun place to stay with plenty of views from inside. Washer/Dryer, Full kitchen with dishwasher, Cable/DVD/Internet.

Charcoal grill, patio, Fire pit, (fire pit to stay on brick patio) Dock, Hard sandy bottom lake. Sunset view. Beautiful area to take a walk or ride your bike. If you need entertainment, catch a show at Interlochen Arts Academy. Great dining only 5 miles away. Boones Long Lake Inn is only 1 mile from Northern Comfort when you don't feel like cooking. Frog Pond is just a few miles away. Horse Shows by the Bay is 19 miles east. Sleeping Bear Dunes makes a great day trip about a 1/2 hour drive away. This home is terrific for families and those looking for a quiet retreat.

The sandy-bottomed lake and sand bars provide plenty of swimming spots; the natural shoreline holds plentiful fish for the taking. There are even two tiny connected ponds, Mickey and Ruth Lakes, and four islands. The Grand Traverse Regional Land Conservancy allows public access to South Island in Long Lake and the Carter-Strong Bird Sanctuary on Ruth Lake. The lake is enjoyed for all types of water sports. Watercraft rentals are available locally or you can bring your own. There are two public boat ramps at Gilbert Park and Crescent Shores Boat Launch. Fishing is popular here; the lake gives up bluegill, brown bullhead catfish, green sunfish, large mouth bass, muskellunge, northern pike, pumpkin seed sunfish, rock bass, small mouth bass, walleye, yellow bullhead catfish, and yellow perch. And, in winter, there is ice fishing, of course. No matter what the season, there is something interesting going on at Long Lake.

Linens included. No smoking. Pet welcome.

This is a Saturday - Saturday rental for prime summer weeks. Short stays available off peak.
This location is 7 miles to downtown Traverse City shopping area. Interlochen Center for the Arts and Frog Pond Village are about 7 miles as well. Boones Long Lake Inn is a great spot to dine and is only a 5 minute trip from the house. Stop at roadside farm markets, Gallagher's fresh local meats and friendly neighborhood shops. There is also indoor golf just a couple of miles down the road.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House
Unit Code COMFORT2
Beds 4 queen beds, 2 twin beds
Bathrooms 2.25 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 10, 6 dining seats
Floor Area 2300 square feet
Pets Dogs allowed.
Living Amenities Linens & Towels, No Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Fans, Heated Floors, Fireplace: Wood Burning, Washer & Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board
Kitchen Amenities Utensils, Cookware, Coffee Maker, Refrigerator, Stove, Oven, Microwave, Toaster
Entertainment Amenities Internet (Wifi), Flat Panel TV, Cable Television, DVD Player, Board Games
Outdoor Amenities Fire Pit, Charcoal grill, Gas Grill, Outdoor Dining Table & Chairs, Deck, Patio, Dock, No mooring, Swim Platform
Geographic Sunset view, Waterfront
Local Activities Beachcombing, Biking, Boating, Boogie Boarding, Fishing/Fly Fishing, Hiking Trails, Kids Games, Movie Theatre, Playground/Park, Public Parks w/Swim Beach, Sight-Seeing, Snow Skiing, Swimming, Interlochen Golf Course, Mistwood Golf Course-Lake Ann, Cherry Bowl Drive in Theatre, Cross Country skiing, Snow Shoeing, Mt Holiday skiing winter, Elmbrook Golf Course, Incredible Moe's Family Fun, 30 min drive or less-Crystal Mtn
Local Businesses Nearby Area Fitness Center, Nearby Farmers Market, Nearby Golf Course, Nearby Grocery/Shopping Center, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Winery, Dog Walking Services, Nearby Indoor Golf
Local Features Art Gallery(s), Baseball Park(s), Symphony Orchestra, Theatre(s), Wine Tour(s), Horse Shows By the Bay, Sleeping Bear Dunes Nat.Lk.Shore, Festivals, Cherry Festival, Traverse City Film Festival, Bike rentals, Jet ski rentals, Canoe rentals, Brew Festival (winter), Wine Festivals (summer& fall), Wine Events, Winter Fest (February), Skiing Crystal Mountain, Comedy Festival (winter), Writers Series, Winter sports Mt Holiday ski, Tall Ship Cruises, Interlochen Center for the Arts, Venetian Festival, Great Lakes Equestrian, Brew Festival-Summer, Baseball Park- Beach Bums, Frog Pond Village, Cherry Bowl Drive-In Movies, Right Brain Brewery
Average Manager Rating (Based on 6227 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 16 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Family trip; Traverse City 2017

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bill D from Palos Heights, IL recommends this vacation rental

    This is a very unique home with several levels, eventually taking you down to the lakefront. We found this place in excellent shape and very clean. Lockbox access was easy and the managing agent was quick to follow up on our arrival and if we had any questions or issues. The driveway is larger than I expected and parking for our four vehicles was not an issue. With the four different levels and two deck levels, there was never a feeling of overcrowding. With the number of levels, there are a lot of stairs which may not be suitable for elderly, small children or the handicapped. Stairs to the upper two bedrooms is a spiral staircase. The kitchen was well equipped. Wi-Fi is adequate, but there are certain areas within the house that has no reception. Overall, we were very please with this property.

  •  
  • Northern Comfort

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Cary N from Goodyear, AZ recommends this vacation rental

    The house was amazing. Enough room for everyone, although more stairs than I thought. The house had everything in the descrption and the location is convienent yet far enough out of town to enjoy the beauty of the local area. The house is clean and well maintained. I would recommend this property to anyone.

  •  
  • Lots of room to move at Northern Comfort 2

    Stayed 3 days ending in February, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lucky T from Milwaukee, WI recommends this vacation rental

    We rented Northern Comfort 2 for a long weekend up north. My older sister lives in the area, and me, my little sister and our families wanted one place to stay together. This "cabin" (it's much bigger and nicer than the word cabin implies) had plenty of room (and bathrooms!) for all of us. Our weekend was very busy, and it was great to have a place to come home to. We cooked several meals, went for walks down to the lake and relaxed by the fire in the kitchen. It was a great weekend.

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • Winter stay

    Stayed 2 days ending in January, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Matthew B from Romulus, mi recommends this vacation rental

    This house was very spacious, clean and with amenities. The location was awesome to be right on the lake with walkout to the water. A very unique layout. Very warm in the winter.

    • Manager Responded on 1/27/2017

      Nothing like a wonderful winter weekend. Please come again.

  •  
  • Great stay

    Stayed 2 days ending in November, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lisa L from Mason, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful time other than losing power in a winter storm. The property is beautiful, private, and great for a big party. Wish there would have been cable!

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • Northern Comfort

    Stayed 2 days ending in November, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Steve H from Zeeland, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Wonderful....we had a small glitch but the staff took care of it in a very professional manner...the whole experience from start to finish was exceptional.

    • Manager Responded on 11/8/2016

      Thank you, Steve. Glad you had a great weekend and can't wait to help you again in the future!

  •  
  • Beautiful Views, Unique Home

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Washington Township, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Overall good experience, the lake view was beautiful and the home slept 8 couples comfortably. The area is amazing, the back patio/deck is wonderful, there is direct dock access as well. The home architecture is unique - great for a fun vacation home. However, there are a couple quirky layout details. 2 Bedrooms are located upstairs, walking up a narrow spiral staircase. The queen/twin trundle area is not in a private bedroom, its secluded but right in the walking path to go upstairs. The linens/bedding were clean and rooms were comfortable. There are 2 full baths, but one is located in the master suite - which makes it a bit awkward to share. There is only 1 half bath, but its located in the kitchen. All towels/baths were clean as well. Regardless of quirks, the house worked out fine for our group of friends. The negatives - the oven was broken, some kitchen basics weren't available (like saran wrap, garbage bags, small number of coffee cups), and the concrete floors were not swept/mopped.

    • Manager Responded on 9/29/2016

      Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. We will certainly look at these items and correct them.

  •  
  • Great space in a great place

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Cincinnati, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We spent a week with a large family group - in fact we rented two houses. We enjoyed our stay. The area is beautiful...there is so much to do. The house is modern and unique. It had everything we needed, plus spectacular views. The only detracting factor was the number of steps in the house (an elderly member of our party had a difficult time with them. We would absolutely come back!

  •  
  • Beautiful house. Not good for kids!

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Fennville, MI recommends this vacation rental

    This house was very beautiful but also very difficult for a child to be in. With four levels and only spiral staircases, we needed to be extremely careful. The outside is also not great for a toddler. There was not any room for her to move around without needing an adult to be right next to her. I would recommend this place to someone that did not have children and didn't mind staying in a place with lots of stairs and no air conditioning.
    We hoped that the fans and concrete floors would make the house cool. It was an extremely hot week and it would have been nice to be in air conditioning.
    Our last complaint is that there were a few things broken in the house and there was a horrible smell in the hallway. We called right away (like we were told we needed to do) and a repair man came out right away to fix the broken stairs and shower handle. However, the receptionist told me twice that a cleaning crew would come to figure out the smell (vomit or spoiled milk) and they never came.
    While cleaning the hallway ourselves, we found that the horrible smell was coming from a rug that must have gotten spilled on or someone got sick and didn't tell the rental company. We were disappointed to have to clean it ourselves but after being told twice that someone would come, we decided it needed just to be cleaned.
    We loved the lake and the location. Overall a nice vacation. Just a few things we wished were different.

  •  
  • cottage review

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Dearborn, MI recommends this vacation rental

    the rental staff was very helpful there were too many levels for small children and senior citizens

    • Manager Responded on 8/1/2016

      Northern Comfort is a great place but could be a challenge for someone who struggles with stairs, we are glad you did enjoy your stay and hope you will be back!

  •  
  • Bachelorette / Birthday Weekend

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Cassie R from Berkley, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had 9 girls stay here for my bach/bday weekend beginning 6/9/16 and it was fabulous! We loved the house and the property is beautiful! Would definitely stay here again :)

    • Manager Responded on 6/20/2016

      We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again!

  •  
  • long lake review

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Pierre K from Howell, MI recommends this vacation rental

    my family had a great time, the home was very nice and clean, there was some signs of wear but overall nice . there was a private boat launch a few doors down for folks on the peninsula but we had no means of accessing unfortunately so we had to drive 2 miles to an other launch, not a big issue but it would have been nice had we had access. On a lighter side you had better hope the zika virus never goes North as the mosquitoes are a plenty on long lake. I do feel rentals should be from noon to noon however

    • Manager Responded on 5/24/2016

      I am glad you had a nice vacation. The boat launch is private and therefore guests of the owners can not use. As far as being noon to noon we do need time to clean the homes , you are welcome to ask for a late check in or check out and if there is not someone leaving or coming it should be no problem.

  •  
  • We would give it a 4 out of five for Rating.

    Stayed 2 days ending in January, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michele B from Walled lake , Michigan recommends this vacation rental

    We were very happy with both the home and the correspondence with the staff. The house was eclectic and reminds us of a frank Lloyd wright house. Could of used a deep cleaning and kinda kitchen kinda needs updating but
    Overall it is fine.

    • Manager Responded on 3/15/2016

      Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your suggestions.

  •  
  • Great Stay

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Christine S from Byron Center, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Beautiful home! Very unique and fun layout

  •  
  • 3 generation get together

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Glenda T from West Hartford, CT recommends this vacation rental

    The family had a great time together. Our party included two children 21/2yr and 5yr. They managed the stairs. There are 56 stairs from the water to the upper bedrooms, so not the place for someone with disabilities. Three bedrooms have doors, the 4th is a sleeping area, semi-private with a folding screen. The house would benefit from some TLC especially the kitchen appliances. There is no beach to speak of but the water is very shallow and great for floating around and good for the little ones in our party. There is a dock and moorings available and we rented a pontoon boat and visited the town beaches and the islands in the lake. A really gorgeous lake,would go back.

  •  
  • Winter Wonderland

    Stayed 5 days ending in January, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Ryan H from Hilliard, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed here over the New Years week. It was our first time in the Traverse City area during Winter. The House is wonderful! The radiant heated floors were amazing during this time of year. The temperature averaged between 3-10 degrees but as soon as you walked into the house it felt wonderful. The location was convenient to downtown Traverse City and the great dining and shopping. Overall, we had a great time and the house worked out wonderfully.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Oct 23, 2017-Dec 22, 2017 $295 $1,200 $5,390 2 No restrictions
Dec 23, 2017-Jan 1, 2018 $425 $1,800 na 3 No restrictions
Jan 2, 2018-Mar 25, 2018 $215 $1,100 $4,830 2 No restrictions
Mar 26, 2018-May 25, 2018 $300 $1,300 $5,800 2 No restrictions
May 26, 2018-Jun 17, 2018 $425 $2,100 na 3 No restrictions
Jun 18, 2018-Aug 26, 2018 na $3,800 $16,390 7 No restrictions
Aug 27, 2018-Oct 27, 2018 $395 $2,000 $8,790 3 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
44.705582,-85.74163

We Accept:


  Discover Card

Visit Up North Vacation Rentals, LLC 548 East Front Street Traverse City, MI 49686 +1 (231) 922-8922 info@visitupnorth.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon