Book by phone: +1 (231) 922-8922

Barefootin on M22-Glen Arbor

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 12, 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms. Dogs allowed.

Glen Arbor, MI 49636 United States

Enjoy Glen Arbor in this one-of-a-kind, very cool 4 bedroom/3 bath historical home that sleeps 12. This home once belonged to the founder of Glen Arbor & is a little piece of Glen Arbor history. "Barefootin" is a great home and is an easy walk to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach down a quiet dirt road. 2 level home faces East, located on River Rd. (M-22). Sleeps up to 12.

3 large bedrooms on main floor each have 1 Queen bed. Spacious, open-style sleeping quarters upstairs has 2 Queens and 2 Twins plus TV. Bathroom on upper level with large walk-in shower. Full kitchen with dishwasher and dining table for 10. Washer/Dryer. Direct TV (limited service in winter/spring months.), DVD, WIFI, whole house stereo with iPod docking. New appliances, new furnishings, new decor! Oh my! >
Outside, enjoy the gorgeous deck and patio area. Just perfect for a get together around the firepit at the end of the day. Frontage on the Crystal River just across the street from the home with 2 Kayaks provided. Gas grill and fire pit.

A great spot to stay when you want to enjoy Leelanau. Just a 5 minute drive to the Sleeping Bear Dunes climb. A 5 minute walk to Sunset Point Beach on Lake Michigan, with great views of North & South Manitou Islands. M22 is a 1/2 mile into the heart of Glen Arbor where you can dine, shop, even play mini-golf! Bocce ball and croquet provided for outdoor fun. Board games are in the house for those rare rainy days. Walk down the street and rent a bike to tour the area. Putt Putt & Paddle is also walking distance for fun on the Crystal River.
Remodeled with a "green," mindset, this house has low-flow bathroom fixtures, CFL's, and recycling bins provided.

Central air conditioning. Linens are provided. Your well-mannered pet is welcome.Perfect fall location too! You will not regret staying at this fine home.

This is a Sunday - Sunday rental for prime summer weeks. Short stays available off peak. Memorial and Labor Day weekends require three nights.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, 2 story
Unit Code M22
Beds 5 queen beds, 2 twin beds
Bathrooms 3 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 12, 10 dining seats
Floor Area 3000 square feet
Pets Dogs allowed.
Living Amenities Linens & Towels, Central Air, Window Air Conditioner, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board
Kitchen Amenities Full Kitchen, Utensils, Cookware, Coffee Maker, Dishwasher, Refrigerator, Stove top: Gas, Oven, Microwave, Toaster
Entertainment Amenities Internet (Wifi), Flat Panel TV, Satellite Television, DVD Player, Stereo System, iPod Docking Station, CD Player, Cornhole game
Outdoor Amenities Fire Pit, Gas Grill, Outdoor Dining Table & Chairs, Patio, Dock, Kayak(s), Life Jackets: Adult
Geographic Near Beach, Near Lake, Near River, Sleeping Bear Dunes Area
Local Activities Beach Walking, Beachcombing, Biking, Boating, Boogie Boarding, Fishing/Fly Fishing, Hiking Trails, Kids Games, Miniature Golf, Playground/Park, Public Parks w/Swim Beach, Sight-Seeing, Swimming, Tennis Court, Dunes Golf Course-Empire, Mistwood Golf Course-Lake Ann, Cherry Bowl Drive in Theatre, Cross Country skiing, Snow Shoeing, Sugarloaf the Old Course, Bowling, Northport Creek Golf course , Leelanau Sands Casino, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Heritage Trail
Local Businesses Nearby Area Fitness Center, Nearby ATM, Nearby Bike Rentals, Nearby Coffee Shop, Nearby Copy Shop, Nearby Farmers Market, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Golf Course, Nearby Grocery/Shopping Center, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Jet Ski Rentals, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Winery, Dog Walking Services
Local Features Art Gallery(s), Baseball Park(s), Lighthouse(s), Museum(s), Symphony Orchestra, Wine Tour(s), Sleeping Bear Dunes Nat.Lk.Shore, Festivals, Cherry Festival, Traverse City Film Festival, Bike rentals, Jet ski rentals, Canoe rentals, Brew Festival (winter), Wine Festivals (summer& fall), Wine Events, Winter Fest (February), Skiing Crystal Mountain, Comedy Festival (winter), Tall Ship Cruises, Leelanau Peninsula Winery, Cherry Bowl Drive-In Movies, The Bay Theater-Suttons Bay, Good Harbor WInery, Hop Lot Brewery, Bowers Harbor Winery, Leelanau Peninsula Winery, Black Star Winery, Willow Winery, Ciccione WInery, M22 Challenge, Bayshore Marathon, Suttons Bay Ciders, Northport Dog Parade, Longview WInery, Bel Lago Vineyards & Winery, Chateau Fontaine, Laurentide WInery, Northern Latitudes Distillery, Brengman Brothers, Chateau de Leelanau, Good Neighbor Organic, Silver Leaf Vineyard & Winery, Boathouse Vineyards-Lake Leelana, Verterra Winery-Leland
Average Manager Rating (Based on 6385 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 44 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Guys Retreat 2018

    Stayed 2 days ending in March, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Russell E from Grand Rapids, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Spacious, lots of bedrooms and bathrooms. Had 12 guys this year and plenty of room for all of us. Great location, short walk to beach or short drive north to parks, lighthouse and hiking.

    • Manager Responded on 3/14/2018

      We are so glad that you had a good time and hope you will be back again soon!

  •  
  • Good value

    Stayed 3 days ending in February, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michael B from Haslett, Michigan recommends this vacation rental

    It was as described. Clean and well maintained. We had a lot of teen aged girls and the bedroom upstairs was perfect for all of them. Dads could sleep in quite in the lower level bed rooms. This is a unique design and location property.

    • Manager Responded on 3/17/2018

      We are glad you had a good time and hope you will be back again soon!

  •  
  • Great house for a large group!

    Stayed 2 days ending in November, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Stacy P from Rockford , MI recommends this vacation rental

    Our group of 12 spent a fall weekend in Glen Arbor. Took lots of hikes with plenty of beaches and trails to explore. The house was spacious and great for our large group of adults and kids. The upstairs room was so fun for all the kids to hang out with plenty of privacy for adults downstairs in the three bedrooms. My only complaint would be all the mattresses in the downstairs bedrooms could use replacing. Otherwise great location to beach, river, and restaurants in Glen Arbor!

    • Manager Responded on 11/16/2017

      Thank you for staying with us. We will share your insights on the beds and see what we can do.

  •  
  • Bare foot on M22

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michael T from Manistee, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had an awesome week. Kayaking access on the Crystal River and Lake MI access with view of the Manitou Islands was great. Waving at M22 fans driving by while sitting on the front porch was a bonus.

    • Manager Responded on 10/9/2017

      Please come again. Got to love M22!

  •  
  • Even Better than Expected!

    Stayed 6 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Grand rapids, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Fantastic beautiful unique home - great for our larger multi family group; large group upper level room where our kids'camped out'. Front of House is too close to the road to use but that mattered not as the back deck and fire pit and side yard were more private and where we hung out. Beach is just down the road out the back - a very quick walk!

    • Manager Responded on 1/8/2018

      We are thrilled that you had a great stay and hope you will be back soon!

  •  
  • Great place on M-22

    Stayed 5 days ending in June, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Grand Blanc, MI recommends this vacation rental

    This vacation rental was awesome. It was the best equipped of any rental we have had. There were activities and equipment for all ages. We used kayaks, games, books, puzzles and various kitchen equipment that
    was very helpful. The furniture in the house was comfortable and well maintained.
    The only problem we had was with the internet equipment that took numerous calls to repair. I would advise following the recommendation of
    UP North Rentals and do not depend on reliable internet being available if you need it for business. There is a local coffee shop that is convenient to visit for service.

    • Manager Responded on 7/6/2017

      Awesome that your vacation was so great. Internet can and is challenging in this area. This is something we have to deal with constantly. Wouldn't it be nice if you didn't have to work on vacation!

  •  
  • About as perfect as it comes

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mike C from Fort Wayne, IN recommends this vacation rental

    For my group of 11 friends and I, this property was just about perfect. The walk up the street to the beach, the included kayaks, built in speaker system, fire pit, corn hole boards and grills were very nice amenities.

    The property was very clean and pretty much as explained in the description. The three bedrooms downstairs were quiet and the upstairs loft made it nice for an additional 5 friends to sleep comfortably. With the two tables outside on the deck there was enough seating for all eleven of us.

    Honestly the only two issues we had with the property was that the internet did not ever work correctly (Something the owner said he would look in to) and that the water heater didn't seem to keep up with my groups needs when getting ready for the day. There were a few of us that had to take lukewarm showers, which for some would have been dealbreakers.

    Overall a very nice property that is close to everything. Will stay at again!

    • Manager Responded on 7/13/2017

      We are glad you had a great time and hope you will come again. We do sometimes have trouble with the internet in our area when there are so many people and if there is a storm, I am sorry you experienced that and the hot water is via a hot water heater with so many people you do have to stagger showering etc but we do hope you enjoyed yourself enough to come back!

  •  
  • Perfect Place

    Stayed 2 days ending in January, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Grand Rapids , MI recommends this vacation rental

    We really enjoyed staying here. As an adult weekend, it was nice to have enough queen size beds so nobody had to sleep on twins. The house is very cozy and the kitchen well stocked. Will definitely consider staying here again.

    • Manager Responded on 2/3/2017

      We are so happy you had a great time!

  •  
  • new year celebration

    Stayed 7 days ending in January, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mike M from windsor, ON recommends this vacation rental

    we all thank you for our stay in your beautiful historic rental

    • Manager Responded on 1/27/2017

      Thank you for staying at M22. So glad you had a great time.

  •  
  • Annual Holiday Fun

    Stayed 2 days ending in December, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Terri K from Gary, IN recommends this vacation rental

    My husband and I booked the house for ourselves and our 3 adult children and their significant other. More than enough room for all 4 couples---we could have housed even more. Upstairs bath is so spacious and inviting. First downstairs bedroom was cold. Didn't seem to have any heat piping in but we managed to make it work. Ideal location. We were able to zip around to Traverse City, Maple City, Cedar, Leeland and Sutton's Bay.

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • The Perfect Place

    Stayed 3 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bao Y from Ferndale, MI recommends this vacation rental

    This house is so spacious and gorgeous. I love the stay here. There were plenty of room for privacy and the living room was able to fit all 9 of us in comfortably. All the bathroom was just great! I love the big bathroom upstairs, could spend lots of time just in there. I love all the historical pictures around the house. The bonfire was at perfect location. Then there were the kayaks, thank you so much for leaving them out there for us! We truly enjoy kayaking down the river. Wished i could've had a bonfire at the beach but it's ok, next time i will. Yep, we are coming back next year!

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • Girls weekend wine tour

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Grand Blanc, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had 12 girls stay at the cottage and every one is had a fantastic stay. We loved the character of the cottage and everything about it.

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • Heaven in the NorthWoods

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Greenville, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful, blissful, restful and fun vacation with our grown children and their spouses at this house! Perfect place to serve as "Vacation Central" for our family's activities!!

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • Family reunion

    Stayed 2 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Saif H from Northville, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful mini-family reunion mid-September, one of those rare perfect weather weekends up north. When we drove up to the house, we were amazed how spacious and clean it was! The layout is not traditional, but thoroughly usable, with plentiful bedding provided. While we spent most of our time at Sleeping Bear Dunes, we did enjoy a morning kayak on a very nice little river across the street, and saw lots of huge salmon! Very peaceful experience. We also had a campfire just down the street on the lake, and enjoyed the beautiful lake breeze. Getting back to house itself, it's obviously updated, very nice huge shower upsatairs, and a kitchen with everything you'd need, including coffee and filters for the drip machine, or even a French press! Needless to say, we were impressed. We used the BBQ grills as well, having two really helped. All in all, we would love to come for a long weekend, so much to do, we just didn't have enough time. Highly recommend!!!

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • Beautiful Glen Arbor and Lake Michigan!

    Stayed 2 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Clarkston, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Too much to do for just a weekend stay. The home is huge and very well furnished for large gatherings and multiple families. The kayaks were an unadvertised treat. So close to Lake Michigan or town makes this a prime location. If you don't want to paddle to the lake, just carry the kayaks down the road 1/4 mile to a private beach.
    Our only 'not so great' comment would be to ask the cleaners to get the dust & webs from the light fixtures, doorways and corners more often. But it is a great home with lots of character.

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • A Little Bit of Home

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Terry P from Forney, TX recommends this vacation rental

    The entire experience with both the home and the rental management company was enjoyable. The home is one we would enjoy owning which for us is a high recommendation. Keep in mind we live in a 100+ yr old home so love the character of the place. Yes it is close to the road and if we had small children that "could" be an issue. The rental came ready to "live in" and we would and very well may do the trip from Texas again!

    • Manager Responded on 6/14/2016

      We are so glad you had a great time and enjoyed the M22 house we love it too! Come back and stay anytime!

  •  
  • October 2015 -Relaxing and fun

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mary S from Livonia, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Bedroom door leading outside did not lock. Called maintenance-told no crime in G. A. besides an occasional jaywalking & it would be noted. Wondered if that was true why there were locks on any of the doors. And why was a note on frig & app that specified all doors must be locked upon leaving the home. Rental advertised high-tech sound system. Unable to use as maintenance was unfamiliar w/system. Info should be provided. Many trees on property were destroyed in summer storm. Disappointing but of course no fault of owners or rental agency. BUT we were only able to use fire pit twice because when trees were cut down and piled they were left SO close to pit it was extremely dangerous to have a fire especially w/any wind. Many have commented on close proximity to M22–no way to comprehend just how close until you arrive. If you step off the front porch you are pretty much on the road. Ad stated there is a fence but it’s only on one side of M22–the rest of the yard is unfenced & in my opinion a danger for small children or animals even those closely supervised. Crossing to get to river was a hazard I was not willing to take. Walking to town was not possible. There is no side walk and it would be extremely dangerous to walk. Cars are literally traveling at least 55-65 miles. That said it is about a min drive to Glen Arbor where there is a sidewalk. The home was lovely and very clean! It’s huge so it would be perfect for a large group or family. It was only my husband, me & our dog so it was definitely too big for us but we knew that when booking. A DVD player downstairs in l.room but if you have kids staying upstairs there’s a VHS player so bring tapes or your own portable DVD player. If you like historical meets modern & eclectic you will love it here. Lots of antiques & unique touches throughout. Try Joe Friendly’s in Empire about 5 min away BEST burgers ever! All in all a wonderful vacation!

    • Manager Responded on 11/12/2015

      We are sorry some of the difficulties you experienced. It sounds like over all you enjoyed the M-22 house. Here in Leelanau County walking along side the road is pretty common. The speed limit here is 35 miles and slows from there. In October it is relatively quiet in this area so usually the road is not an issue. If one would like to walk to Lake Michigan it is along a quiet road just to the west and north of the house where there is little traffic. The owner of M-22 house continues to make improvements to make each year better and better. We will include instructions for the sound system. We hope you will visit again.

  •  
  • Great house in a beautiful setting

    Stayed 3 days ending in October, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Cleveland Heights, OH recommends this vacation rental

    The house is much larger than it looks on the outside. We had a group of 7 adults and 2 dogs, and still had plenty of space for everybody to hang out, sleep, shower, etc. The decor of the home is a charming mix of old and new. There is a public beach just down the street (within walking distance, but maybe not if you are hauling a bunch of beach gear with you). Downtown Glen Arbor is just a mile down the road. The house was clean and comfortable. The yard is a bit small, and the home is of course on a busier road, but the noise wasn't an issue for us (it gets very quiet at night). I would love to stay here again soon!

    • Manager Responded on 12/4/2015

      We are pleased you enjoyed the M-22 house. It is indeed a great fun houe and great location for getting to the river and the lake. We look forward to your next visit.

  •  
  • Barefootin' on M-22 House Review

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Dave G from Cincinnati, OH recommends this vacation rental

    Great location for everything we wanted to do. Don't kayak the river across the street, your time is much better spent going to the Platte River and kayaking there. House itself was big, which was key for us, with plenty of rooms so it make sleeping arrangements great. If you are looking for luxury, you won't find it. It is more like a cabin, woodsy feel, which was fine for us but might not be for the luxury-minded. The fire pit and woods were great. It was nice being able to walk to the lake, and have a short drive to a lot of things we wanted to do.

  •  
  • M-22!!!

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from New York City, NY recommends this vacation rental

    Terrific experience. Only issue involved WIFI, which was down for the first day of our visit.

    • Manager Responded on 7/19/2015

      We are glad you had a nice stay and appreciate your patience with the wifi issue. Hope you'll stay with us again soon.

  •  
  • Huge!

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Leanne C from Commerce Township, MI recommends this vacation rental

    While this humongous house was more than we needed, we were very happy to have learned of it!
    It is very important to us to stay in downtown Glen Arbor. This little town has everything we ever want for a perfect, relaxing, and rejuvenating vacation.
    This rental home is wonderfully located.
    Previous reviewers mention its closeness to a very busy road, and while that's true, the home also borders a Dead End street - which happens to Dead End at Lake Michigan! - and has a nice fence along the busy road. The car/traffic presence did not bother me.
    The home is very large, and the bathrooms were fantastically clean with hot hot water and great water pressure. The management company provides plenty of bath towels and washcloths. The bedrooms all had great comforters and lighting and window treatments. The tv station options weren't vast, but the tvs were very nice.
    We had a great stay, and would certainly rent this home again.

  •  
  • Autumn Getaway

    Stayed 3 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Granger, IN recommends this vacation rental

    This was our second fall visit to this property and hopefully not the last. The location is a perfect base for hiking and biking or simply driving around Leelanau County to enjoy the fall color. The house is a fun, eclectic space with a big great room that invites hanging out and enjoying the view of the Crystal River.

    • Manager Responded on 12/2/2014

      Thank you for staying with us. It is a fun house, is it not. We look forward to your next visit.

  •  
  • Glen Arbor

    Stayed 5 days ending in September, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Comstock Park, MI recommends this vacation rental

    This is an awesome place to stay. The house was furnished with everything that made our stay exceptionally comfortable. Location was great. Loved everything about it!

    • Manager Responded on 9/19/2014

      The M22 house is indeed a awesome place to stay and we are happy you liked it so much. We look for was hard to your next visit.

  •  
  • Perfect for weekend family getaway

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Hoffman Estates, IL recommends this vacation rental

    Lovely remodeled house with alot of character. Nicely decorated. Close to the town and a short walk to the lake. Lots of room to move around in the house and alot of space upstairs. The house has kayaks, lawn games, fire ring, games, etc. plenty of entertainment. The house is close to the highway but it was not a problem because there is backyard space. Will need to watch small children out front.

    • Manager Responded on 12/2/2014

      Thank you for staying with us and please come again.

  •  
  • Lovin' Barefootin' on M22

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Wheaton, IL recommends this vacation rental

    We had a lovely time exploring Glen Arbor and Sleeping Bear Dunes, and Barefootin on M22 was the perfect home / anchor. There are kayaks to enjoy, a short walk to town and to the beach, and plenty of space both inside and outside the home for everyone to have their own space or to come together for fun games, meals or time around the fire pit.

  •  
  • Family reunion in spacious house

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Rollinsville, CO recommends this vacation rental

    Property was clean. Bathrooms & kitchen were all updated and in great condition. Main room—a LR/DR combo is very large and spacious. Two main floor bedrooms are very large; the third main level BR is adequate for the queen bed. Two downstairs bathrooms are small, with showers. The upstairs loft is huge and has a small sink (helpful if you have lots of people). The upstairs bathroom is enormous with a giant shower stall and separate tub. Overall nice décor, feels homey w/ wood floors, mostly black & white with accents of lime and turquoise. The owners have put some care into decorating—things like photos & M-22 logo barware. Whole house stereo system with iPod dock was fun to use, kept us in tunes the entire time. The outside wood deck is large, plain, and adequate, next to the grass area with fire pit, all which is oriented to the back of the house (away from the road). Be prepared for spider webs and biting insects in the Glen Arbor area. Easy access to town and beach. The two bikes provided (no helmets) worked well (did not try the third one).
    Drawbacks—sets back about 8 feet from the M-22 road, if you are sensitive to road noise, could be problematic. A motorcycle roared past daily at 7 am waking up those sleeping in the front rooms. Things to make it better: two of the downstairs queen beds definitely need replacement (the rooms are huge, put kings size beds in them!). A few more kitchen supplies would be helpful. Three of the blue plastic chairs on the deck were cracked and uncomfortable for sitting. Cable TV didn’t work (no instructions on how to work it). DVD selection was bargain bin quality. Upon arrival, four light bulbs—in LR, kitchen and BR--were burnt out. It took 48 hours and two phone calls to get replacements (should have been found by housekeeping, and when notified should have been replaced the same day). An app that automatically reminds you to take out the trash, sent reminders on the wrong day, twice (annoying). <

  •  
  • Barefootin' on M22

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from williamston, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful time. The spaciousness of the rental property was great. Rented bikes and rode to beach several times a day and into Glen Arbor shopping district. Lots of space for the kids to play and sleep.

  •  
  • Unexpected surprise

    Stayed 9 days ending in May, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Glen Arbor, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Thank you for sharing this great house with us. We visited glen arbor for a wedding and the house is perfect for hosting a get together. All around a fun place with lots of history. The only drawback is its proximity to M22 so the traffic can be loud and if you have small ones this is something you have to take into account but I guess that is why it’s the “M22 house”. We will definitely be back thanks again.

    • Manager Responded on 5/22/2014

      We are happy you had such a wonderful time. It is a great house despite the proximity from the road. The rear of the house is more private and offers plenty of safe space for guests and their children .

  •  
  • Wow!

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kerry M from Lansing, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We loved our stay at Barefootin on M-22! The place had a unique and eclectic vibe, with me than enough room for 4 couples to hang out. We all are looking forward to coming back when the weather is better so we can take advantage of the beach, kayaks, and general beauty that the area has to offer. We loved cheering on the Sleeping bear marathon runners right from our front porch Sunday morning. A great stay! Only complaint was the fridge outlet wasn't working so we had to move it across the kitchen and wait for it to cool down.

  •  
  • Nice surprise

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Fort Wayne, IN recommends this vacation rental

    After vacationing at the Homestead for more than 20 years, we thought we would try this house for a change. We were all actually quite pleased. It was very roomy and made a nice space for a large group. It is a nice little walk to the beach, which was not a problem. There are a few things we would add (various kitchen supplies) and we have sent an email in that regard, but all in all, this was a very nice place. We will likely stay here again! Thank you!

  •  
  • A Week on M-22

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Findlay, OH recommends this vacation rental

    Great week in Glen Arbor. Close to Lake Michigan, a bike ride to Glen Arbor and Glen Lake, a short ride to Sleeping Bear Dunes, easy access to a tour of the local wineries. A great week.

  •  
  • July 2013 Grabski Get Together

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Nancy G from Westlake, OH recommends this vacation rental

    I thought it was a great house; lots of room,lots of character, lots of history. Felt as if we were staying in a museuam - of sorts. Location was fine and we had 4 kids under 8. The traffic wasn't bad, and couldn't hear it anyway. Loved to be able to walk down to the beach. What we didn't like - almost all of us: the mattresses. You've got to purchase a few more firm sets, especially front bedroom, back bedroom by door and a few upstairs. We all would come back, but would have to stick something between the mattress/box spring to firm it up. It was great to meet the owner, or one of the owners. Interesting guy, gave us all some history of the area.

  •  
  • Great House--location only for certain age groups

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Dayton, OH recommends this vacation rental

    Great house, perfect for teenagers and or college students. Lots of room, wonderfully decorated. Location is too close to busy M22 for our perfect enjoyment. Location would be very worrisome for young children. Rental company is first class, I will use them every year!!

  •  
  • We enjoyed ourselves.

    Stayed 3 days ending in October, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Katherine W from St. Charles, MI recommends this vacation rental

    the two lower beds could have better mattresses.
    Very unique home. Nice and roomy. we enjoyed it

    • Manager Responded on 10/30/2012

      Our owner is looking to replace these. Thank you for the feedback.

  •  
  • Wonderful house!!

    Stayed 8 days ending in September, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Sarah K from Philadelphia, PA recommends this vacation rental

    The house is fantastic - really charming, but very nicely and recently renovated. It has a real "lived in" feeling with many personal touches. Has fantastic amenities - great surround sound system, TV/DVD with several DVDs, great grill, fully equipped kitchen etc.... My only issue was its close proximity to M-22, which even at night could still have some loud traffic. That being said, it was only a 5 minute walk to Lake Michigan and a 10 minute walk into the center of Glen Arbor, which made up for the noise of M-22. We will definitely be returning at some point in the future.

  •  
  • Satisfying Michigan Fun

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Cincinnati, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We enjoyed an excellent week at "Barefootin on M22". We found that the home was accurately and fairly depicted. It is located conveniently close to the charming town of Glen Arbor, and also within an easy and pleasant walk to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach.

    The home provided spacious and comfortable accomodations for my wife and I, plus our daughter, son-in-law and their three young children. There was plenty of bedroom space, a well equipped kitchen, and a fun, spacious "great room/dining room" combination. The bathrooms, although not luxurious, were certainly adequate. The house was clean and well maintained. The house worked out very well for us. We knew going in that the house is located on a fairly busy street and there is some traffic noise. However, the back yard and side yard are very pleasant and across the busy street is a beautiful stream (the Crystal River). The house comes equipped with two kayaks and we enjoyed some relaxing moments paddling on the peaceful, beautiful river.

    In conclusion, we had a fine time in the Glen Arbor area and we were comfortable and pleased with the "Barefootin on M22" house.

  •  
  • Great Time!

    Stayed 8 days ending in July, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from williamston, MI recommends this vacation rental

    I only rated down on safety because of the extreme closeness to M22 and boy oh boy do the cars go fast. We had toddlers with us so there were a few terrifying moments. Location is what it is but families with small ones need to know that a four year old can easily go around the fence to retrieve a frisbee....and cause his grandmother to have a melt down!!! We loved the proximity to the Lake and downtown. Thumbs up for sure.

  •  
  • Barefootin

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Haley L from Spring Lake, Michigan recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time staying at Barefootin during our stay in Glen Arbor. The house is awesome with plenty of room and a great sound system throughout the house. Less than 1/2 mile to the big lake for great sunsets and a walk across the street to Crystal River where you can paddle into town for lunch or out to Lake Michigan. We hope to be back to Glen Arbor and will definitely want to stay here!

  •  
  • Review of M22 house

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Sterling Heights, MI recommends this vacation rental

  •  
  • Family Vacation

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Cathy R from Canton, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Great place with a lot of character and very clean. All the amenities you need provided. Just a short & pleasant walk to a great beach on the Lake and Glen Arbor. Not far from Glen Lake. Only drawback - it is right on M-22 and there is a lot of traffic and noise. Didn't bother us too much, there were so many great things about the property! Would stay there again!

  •  
  • barefoot on m22

    Stayed 2 days ending in July, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Beverly Hills, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Everything was great but it was so close to M22 that you heard road noise

  •  
  • Review by a guest

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from South Lyon, MI recommends this vacation rental

  •  
  • Beautiful renovation of charming house on river, close to beach and town

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Evanston, IL recommends this vacation rental

    We were two families with 5 kids ages 2-10. The kids loved the huge upstairs bunk room - lots of room to play. We liked being able to walk up the road or along the beach into town. Also, the cross street that dead ends at the beach was a safe place to ride bikes/scooters (on the beach end). We enjoyed the firepit, kayaking on the river, mini golf, Cherry Republic, climbing the dunes, hiking Aligator hill, etc. Everything very accessible.

  •  
  • A comfortable stay in a beautiful setting.

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Westport, CT recommends this vacation rental

    Overall we were very pleased. Following are a few hopefully constructive comments. The proximity of the home to the street and especially to a curve was our only complaint with the location. We had a small child with us and we were a bit nervous. The home is very close to town and to a beautiful beach (you should stress this more in your listing). The home was clean. Our only complaint was that we would have liked to have blinds or some privacy on the front windows -- again with the proximity to the street it was a little uncomfortable having people looking in on us. We had problems with the water staining some of our white clothes with a rust color.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Mar 26, 2018-May 25, 2018 $315 $1,400 na 2 Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri checkin only
May 26, 2018-Jun 16, 2018 $400 $1,800 na 3 No restrictions
Jun 17, 2018-Aug 26, 2018 na $4,000 $17,390 7 No restrictions
Aug 27, 2018-Oct 27, 2018 $500 $2,000 $9,000 2 No restrictions
Oct 28, 2018-Dec 20, 2018 $295 $2,065 $8,850 2 No restrictions
Dec 21, 2018-Jan 1, 2019 $595 $4,165 na 3 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

Century Link 1-800-788-3600

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
44.90398,-85.97534

We Accept:


  Discover Card

Visit Up North Vacation Rentals, LLC 548 East Front Street Traverse City, MI 49686 +1 (231) 922-8922 info@visitupnorth.com

© 1999 - 2018 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon