Book by phone: +1 (231) 922-8922

As Good As it Gets on Long Lake Traverse City

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental cottage. Sleeps 8, 3 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms. Dogs allowed.

Traverse City, MI 49684 United States

Picture yourself at this really charming home that is perfectly comfortable for your family on beautiful Long Lake in Traverse City. Long Lake is a great all-sports lake. This frontage is hard sand and slowly gets deep so it makes a great spot if you have younger children. 3 bedrooms and 1.5 bathrooms. 1 level house (with small loft upstairs), faces East. Long driveway leads you to the cottage. Sleeps 8.

1 King, 1 Queen, set of bunks (2 Twins) and a sofabed (on enclosed porch). Secret little loft for the kids when Mom needs a break. Nicely appointed with fully stocked kitchen with dishwasher. Small table for breakfast and additional dining near the living room area. Washer and Dryer. Off of the kitchen is a cozy enclosed porch area that is perfect to have your morning coffee or is the perfect spot to curl up with a book if it happens to rain. Wood fireplace in living room overlooks the lake. Cable TV/DVD and DSL internet.

Outdoors bring your boat. Dock is provided. Firepit near the shore. Charcoal grill to cook the catch of the day. Hammock for taking a nap under tall shade trees. The only thing you need to bring are groceries and your bathing suit!

No air conditioning. Linens are included. No Smoking.
Your well-mannered pet is welcome. Only one dog per stay.


This is a Sunday - Sunday rental for prime summer weeks. Short stays available off peak.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Cottage
Unit Code GOOD
Beds 1 king bed, 1 queen bed, 1 sleeper sofa, 1 bunk bed
Bathrooms 1.5 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 8, 6 dining seats
Floor Area 1200 square feet
Pets Dogs allowed.
Living Amenities Linens & Towels, No Air Conditioning, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board
Kitchen Amenities Utensils, Cookware, Coffee Maker, Refrigerator, Stove, Oven, Microwave, Toaster, Dishwasher
Entertainment Amenities Internet (Non-Wifi), Television(s), Cable Television
Outdoor Amenities Fire Pit, Charcoal grill, Patio, Dock, Hammock
Local Activities Biking, Boating, Fishing/Fly Fishing, Hiking Trails, Sight-Seeing, Swimming, Interlochen Golf Course, Mistwood Golf Course-Lake Ann, Cherry Bowl Drive in Theatre
Local Businesses Nearby Area Fitness Center, Nearby Casino, Nearby Farmers Market, Nearby Golf Course, Nearby Grocery/Shopping Center, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Post Office, Dog Walking Services
Local Features Art Gallery(s), Baseball Park(s), Lighthouse(s), Symphony Orchestra, Wine Tour(s), Horse Shows By the Bay, Sleeping Bear Dunes Nat.Lk.Shore, Festivals, Cherry Festival, Traverse City Film Festival, Bike rentals, Jet ski rentals, Canoe rentals
Average Manager Rating (Based on 5806 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 29 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • As Good As it Gets

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Christopher D from Ann Arbor, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Overall a good experience.
    The cottage was clean and situated very nicely on the lake. The beach was very nice.

    When we arrived we did not have power due to a ground fault from the transformer feed. It was fixed before we went to bed. I have to give kudos for the quick service.

  •  
  • Wonderful cottage

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    David B from Saugatuck, MI recommends this vacation rental

    This cottage is appropriately named. It offered everything we needed. Situated on a clear lake, spectacular sunrises, sandy beach, long dock, quiet neighborhood and located near Traverse City. We visited in September and the weather was gorgeous; lot of sunshine, warm temps and cool evenings. The cottage has lots of private space - huge back patio, screened in porch with comfortable furniture and Adirondack chairs by the beach. Large TV with all the channels, speedy wireless internet and an extra TV in the master bedroom. Kitchen had all of the essentials. Every room was clean and tastefully decorated. We had day trips to Bellaire (1hr-10min), Glen Lake (30min, Old Mission (45min) and Traverse City (20min). Great shore fishing at Lake Dubonnet. Moomer's Ice Cream is on the north side of Long Lake. The cottage could comfortably sleep two couples and two kids. Loft with double bed above living room not easily accessible. We look forward to returning to "As Good As It Gets" in the future.

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2017

      We are thrilled you had a great stay! Come back and see us again soon.

  •  
  • great vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Traverse City, MI recommends this vacation rental

    everything was great. We mostly stayed sight and enjoyed the water.thanks

  •  
  • As good as it gets

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from White Lake, Mi recommends this vacation rental

    This was our second year at As Good As it Gets. The property is especially nice for young children. The beach is sandy and the slope is long so kids can go a long ways and still be in shallow water. There's enough beach for play and flat land for kiting. The home is clean and pleasant. We have many fond memories here. We are adding another grandchild making our group 9. It's a little tight for eight. We will have to move to something a little bigger but thanks for two great years!

    • Manager Responded on 8/3/2016

      We are so glad you enjoyed your stays, and I am sure we can find you something you will love that is a little bigger!

  •  
  • Great family getaway

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Elizabeth N from Oak Park, IL recommends this vacation rental

    Long lake is a slice of heaven. We loved playing in the lake, snuggling up on the cozy couches, having campfires and gazing at the lake. This location is truly heaven sent and we had the best week!

    • Manager Responded on 7/26/2016

      We are glad you had a great stay and hope you come back again soon!

  •  
  • Living a week "As Good as it Gets on Long Lake, Traverse City

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Bettendorf, IA recommends this vacation rental

    "As good as it Gets on Long Lake Traverse City" was just that for two different visits for our family. The house nicely accommodates grandparents, parents and two children, along with the kids' dog. The house is very comfortable without being fussy. The kitchen is well equipped. We enjoy being a bit off the road and love the sandy shoreline with a wonderful dock. The beach chairs and fire pit add to the fun. It is a short drive to many points of interest in the area, but quiet once we are back at the cabin.

  •  
  • Life was good at As Good as it Gets!

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Shirley R from White Lake, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We really enjoyed our stay. The house was very nice, great view and our weather was sunny every day until the storm but we were on our way home when that happened. We left some comments on the table. Hope you have them.
    Best, Shirley Robertson 8/5/15

  •  
  • Almost as Good as it gets

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from White Lake, Mi recommends this vacation rental

    We had a lovely experience. The home was clean and as advertised. We found it a little tight for sleeping and eating 8. But it was very nice. We had two small problems--to much garbage had been left in the bin so we couldn't put ours in, and not enough towels had been left for 8. The staff was polite and took care of both problems for us. (The blender doesn't work). IT is a lovely vacation, great for small children, lovely beach and nice neighbors. We rented the place next door a few years ago. We love the peacefulness of this lake.

  •  
  • October 2014 Bike Weekend

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Stephen S from Plymouth, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Very nice property and good overall value. We enjoyed the great fall colors and the nice living/sleeping space.

    • Manager Responded on 12/2/2014

      Thank you for staying with us and please come again.

  •  
  • Great stay

    Stayed 2 days ending in September, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Ada, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Very nice late season rental. We had the lake almost to ourselves.

  •  
  • Great place for family!

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jennifer B from Woodway, TX recommends this vacation rental

    We always stay on long lake when we go to traverse city, and his house was the most ideal for us yet. We have three young children and it was a good house for us. The beach is almost right outside the door- no steps to go down and there's a nice little sandy area. The kids loved swimming and jumping off the dock.

  •  
  • Great Time

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Caledonia, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Wonderful vacation.

  •  
  • Wonderful

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Caledonia, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We were pleasantly surprised with this place. The pictures don't do it justice.

  •  
  • Summer Sun

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Ann Arbor, MI recommends this vacation rental

    The week was simply wonderful. Location and lake were perfect. My only concerns were the fans - we needed them because it was warm, and they were very dirty. Kitchen could use some new knifes and a large cutting board. These are small issues - the cottage was very nicely furnished, and the view was spectacular. As always, the management company did a great job - good communication and helpful.

  •  
  • Comar stay Sept. 2012

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Wendy C from Portage, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We loved the cottage---very comfortable beds and furniture. Lake was wonderful. The property needs a full size vacuum though to clean up during stay. We did not take the warning of Swimmer's itch seriously enough as we both had bad cases of it when we got home that lasted a week. But we loved it and will go back. Thanks for being pet-friendly!

  •  
  • Great Vacation Spot!

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Sarah M from Cincinnati, Ohio recommends this vacation rental

    This is the second year we have stayed in As Good As It Gets. It is an excellent location and a very nice house. However, the house (and plumbing/septic system) are starting to show age. With a few updates I would rate it nearly perfect. Kudos to the rental company as they promptly repaired our plumbing issue.

  •  
  • Perfect week

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Ann Arbor , Michigan recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful, relaxing time at the lake house. The property was a perfect size to accommodate our extended family of 8 ---which includes 1 year old twin grandchildren and a precocious 3 year old granddaughter. We loved the sandy bottom lake and beach. Evening campfires, casual jigsaw puzzles, quiet reading, grilled dinner meals were perfect. The location allowed perfect day trips as well. Thank you for making our week away so memorable. The only suggestion I would offer is to provide a larger "trash bin". It's not large enough to manage a week's worth of trash for a cottage this size.

  •  
  • LONG LAKE IS PERFECT

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from St. Ignace, MI recommends this vacation rental

    As Good As It Gets is a great place! We all loved the cottage, the decor is wonderful. The lake was so much fun to explore, tube, ski. We will be back next year.

  •  
  • fun was had by all

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Greenville, Wi recommends this vacation rental

    Nice lake with many sandy areas. Cabin was clean and well appointed. It was very hot that week so we were thankful for the fans for each bedroom. Pine sap on the patio is a problem-surprisingly hard to remove from clothes! So glad you allow pets! Our Golden Retriever was in the water constantly. Thank you for a lovely vacation spot!

  •  
  • MI Vacation 2012

    Stayed 5 days ending in June, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Warsaw, IN recommends this vacation rental

    We brought Mom and Aunt and had a great time, the property works well for seniors and pets. Nice swimming area with a sandy beach. The home was well equipped and comfortable. It was over 90 degrees one day and very warm inside as there's no AC but there are several fans. If your intent is to catch fish make sure to bring your boat. Accomodates 4 very comfortably, 8 might be a little snug. We would definitely recommend this rental to friends and family.

  •  
  • Great location and Great weather

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Boomfield Hills, Mi recommends this vacation rental

  •  
  • Excellent Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Sarah M from Cincinnati, Ohio recommends this vacation rental

    We have a great time in As Good As It Gets and would recommend it to all!

  •  
  • "As Good As It Gets" 8/15 - 8/21/2011

    Stayed 6 days ending in August, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bob F from Marengo, Oh recommends this vacation rental

    We enjoyed our stay at this cottage on Long Lake very much. We shared it with our son, daughter-in-law, and their 2 young children. It was a great spot for the kids to play in the sand and shallow water. This cottage is very clean and well maintained.
    We did encouter one big problem with the lake water. Although very clean looking, my son, grandson, and I contracted "swimmer's itch" after the first day in the water which caused a nasty rash and very uncomfortable itching for several days. People should
    be prepared to deal with this in late summer in the shallows of the lake.

  •  
  • As good as it gets is an understatement

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Curtice, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time! It was all that we expected. Our families rented this property and the one next door and all 17 of us were happy about our stay. Even the neighbors were nice. The only slight disappointment was that the propane ran out at the other
    house, and there was a mildew smell in our house's main bathroom. I think that if we had just removed the rug in front of the tub, it may have taken care of it. A bath mat that we could wash daily would have been a better idea. Also for the few humid days,
    a couple more portable fans would have been a nice option. Overall Great place, great time!

    • Manager Responded on 10/4/2011

      We will make sure there ar more fans and bath mats. Please know if you are renting with us and need something that the rental should have, we will take care of when you are at the rental. We are just a phone call away.

  •  
  • Beautiful week in June

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2011

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Highland, IN recommends this vacation rental

  •  
  • Awesome place to stay, clean, has everything!

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Theresa G from Livonia, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We loved it and there is so much to see nearby. Would recommend this cottage to anyone.

  •  
  • Review by a guest

    Stayed 13 days ending in August, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from LAKE FOREST, MI recommends this vacation rental

  •  
  • Peaceful

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Nicole V from Macomb, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time. The property was beautiful. Very clean and comfortable. The lake was calm and clear! Great for kids or adults. It had a nice sandy bottom not mushy. We did notice there were a lot of older people in the area which was fine for us but may have caused an issue for the partying crowds. We also brought our dog and she had a blast. Non stop swimming! My nephew enjoyed the loft area. It was a perfect play area for kids! All in all I would rate our stay a 10!

  •  
  • Nice stay

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2010

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Arvin A from West Bloomfield, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Nice stay.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Jun 17, 2017-Aug 27, 2017 na $2,600 $11,250 7 No restrictions
Aug 28, 2017-Oct 22, 2017 $295 $1,600 na 2 No restrictions
Oct 23, 2017-Dec 21, 2017 $200 $1,200 $5,200 2 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
44.707456,-85.763819

We Accept:


  Discover Card

Visit Up North Vacation Rentals, LLC 548 East Front Street Traverse City, MI 49686 +1 (231) 922-8922 info@visitupnorth.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon